The African regional Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AfAOMS) functions under the aegis of the International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (IAOMS), recognised as the voice for the specialty in the world.

The IAOMS has built a global network of national associations or societies representing the majority of individual oral and maxillofacial surgeons practicing within their respective countries. These national groups may seek formal affiliation with IAOMS subject to approval by the Executive Committee and the Council of the IAOMS.

Affiliated countries are then grouped in six geographically related regions. These regional groups founded on a continental definition are:

  • Africa
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Latin America
  • North America
  • Oceania

The following eight national or regional African associations, currently affiliated with the IAOMS, comprise the African Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons  : 

  • Eastern Africa
  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • Sudan
  • South Africa
  • Seychelles
  • Libya
  • Tunisia